Formula Drift 2013 Round 6 at Texas Motor Speedway – Qualifying Results

formula drift texas motor speedway drifting

Formula Drift 2013 Round 6 at Texas Motor Speedway – Qualifying Results

By Justin Banner

It's a new venue for Formula Drift in 2013 in a familiar area; Fort Worth, Texas! It's been 8 years since Formula Drift was in Texas but this time it will be in the proper racing facility of Texas Motor Speedway instead of Reliant Stadium's parking lot. It's also proving to be the fastest course in Formula Drift history in a points paying event with entry speeds reaching over 100 miles per hour.

The course is rather simple with only 3 turns and a very long straight, so it favors fast cars over cars that can take a technical course. Most drivers have had fun and welcome the challenge of higher speeds, but for thoe drivers whose cars are set up for complex tracks; the simplicity and speeds of the infield road course has proven to be a disappointment. Regardless, with the penalties handed out after Seattle and a new course for nearly all of the drivers, it has been a points changer.

Here are your Top 5 Qualifying results from Texas Motor Speedway.

Formula Drift 2013 Texas Motor Speedway Odi Bakchis

Odi Bakchis in the Nexen/Air Force S14 Nissan 240SX makes the show in 5th place. After the disappointment of losing his podium chances due to a debeaded tire at Seattle, Odi has more than made up for it with his ualifying effort at Texas. Odi faces Robbie Nishida and should be a great battle between the two drivers.

Forrest Wang Texas Motor Speedway

After competing in Formula Drift and XDC for many years, Forrest Wang finally comes out to shine at Texas Motor Speedway with a Top 5 Qualifying effort. His best Formula Drift effort to date finally gives him a chance to show what he's really capable of as he will be going up against Tony Angelo in the first round.

Chris Forsberg Texas Motor Speedway

First in points, “Mr. Consistent” Chris Forsberg takes 3rd place in Qualifying order. Looking strong since practice on Thursday, Chris will try to increase his points lead in the NOS Energy Drink Nissan 370Z. His first opponent will be Jeremy Lowe in the only rotary powered FC3S on the Formula Drift pro circuit.

Fredric Aasbo Texas Motor Speedway

Coming in Second Place for qualifying today, Fredric Aasbo in the Hankook Tires/Motegi Racing Scion tC helps show that the four-cylinder turbo cars can't be counted out. Of course, high speed courses are nothing new to the Gatebil star as his experience and deft foot work secured him the penultimate spot on the grid. He will be facing Chris Jeaneret from the Pacific Northwest.

Vaughn Gittin, Jr Texas Motor Speedway

With all the controversy and facing the biggest fine and penalty in Formula Drift history, Vaughn Gittin, Jr. takes the Number One qualifying spot at Texas Motor Speedway. It seems the bad news didn't affect the Monster Energy/Nitto Tires driver and he will be facing Gabe Stone who qualified 32nd.

Unpredictable weather Texas Motor Speedway

The weather at Texas Motor Speedway took a turn from humid and hot to windy and rain at the end of Top 16 Qualifying. It actually hit while JR Hildebrand went out on his qualifying run, forcing him into several mistakes as he dealt with a slick track. A drier was brought out before bottom 16 qualifying and Formula Drift allowed those drivers to take a parade lap to feel out the track.

Daigo Saito Texas Motor Speedway

Daigo Saito was the first to take on the changed track as he and Robbie Nishida both failed to make Top 16 Qualifying. Daigo went 4 off and earned a zero on his first run and had to make it on this pass to make the show. He did so with a 22nd place spot and will face Matt Powers in the Fatlace/Nitto Tires Nissan 240SX.

Darren McNamara

The beneficiary of Vaugh Gittin's 30 point loss was Darren McNamara in the Falken Tires S14 Nissan Silvia. However, a zero point effort on both of his runs meant that he would fail to qualify. This has huge implications in his chase to his first Formula Drift Championship. His SPD Metal Works/Falken Tires teammate, Daijiro Yoshihara, qualified with a 6th place spot. Mathematically, Dai still has a chance at the championship but he needs some major moments to happen in Top 32 to all the points leaders to keep his hopes alive.

wind of change texas motor speedway

Finally, we do need to mention that Ryan Kado had a fairly major fire happen during Top 32 practice. There are teams working into the night trying to get the “Kid's” car back together for competition tomorrow. Additionally, at the end of qualification, Joon Maeng's Lucas Oil Nissan 240SX developed an engine noise that had them concerned. No word on what the cause or the verdict, but keep informed through our Facebook page for more information. Is there a wind of change blowing in the direction of Chris Forsberg or Vaughn Gittin, Jr. and their chances for a championship? Will Daigo Saito pull the belts tighter and get back into championship form? Find out tomorrow as Formula Drift goes into Eliminations at Texas Motor Speedway!

1. V. Gittin
2. F. Aasbo
3. C. Forsberg
4. F. Wang
5. O. Bakchis
6. D. Yoshihara
7. M. Essa
8. P. Mordaunt
9. C. Denofa
10. T. Yoshioka
11. M. Powers
12. K. Gushi
13. M. Field
14. J. Pawlak
15. M. Baribeau
16. T. Aono
17. C. Grunewald
18. M. Ovcharik
19. P. Goodin
20. W. Parsons
21. D. George
22. D. Saito
23. R. Primozich
24. R. Kado
25. D. Kearney
26. J. Maeng
27. K. Moen
28. R. Nishida
29. T. Angelo
30. J. Lowe
31. C. Jeaneret
32. G. Stone

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *