Holley Announces September 6–8 As Dates for 2013 LS Fest

2013 Holley LS Fest

 Holley announces September 6-8 as the dates for Holley LS Fest 2013


This will be the fourth year that Beech Bend Raceway in Bowling Green, KY has been the venue for the all-LS celebration of performance and handling.  2012 saw continued growth for the event. Both vendors and participants increased as GM’s LS engine remains a popular choice for enthusiasts looking to make easy, reliable power. Participants choose LS Fest as it is a great place to put current or finished projects through their paces in a host of performance events

Holley LS Fest

LS Fest remains the only event where fans can experience auto-crossing, a countryside cruise, drag racing, drifting, a mobile dyno, engine swap challenge, show-n-shine, speed stop challenge, and all in the same place. The overarching rule to any of the events is that the vehicle must be powered by an LS engine to participate.

Each year a “Grand Champion” is announced at LS Fest. This award goes to the driver that performs the best across not only the autocross, but drag racing, the speed stop challenge, and the show-n-shine included. It truly showcases the individual with the most well rounded vehicle. Long time LS Fest competitor Brian Finch returned with his second gen Camaro, edging first place from Detroit Speed’s Kyle Tucker by a mere three points. Jeffrey Cleary’s LS7 powered ’67 Corvette, finished in third, two points below Tucker.

ls swap miata, holley ls fest, autocross

The Ridetech Autocross brought a number of the country’s top Pro-Touring drivers and their vehicles to surface. When the smoke settled Kyle Tucker from Detroit Speed came out on top with a 41.91 second run. A 1.51 second difference separated Tucker from second place Britt Marolf. Brian Finch took third with a 42.74. 

holley ls fest, drift, drifting, joon meng
2012 saw Lucas Oil come on board with the sponsorship of LS Fest’s Drift Challenge. Lucas Oil sponsored Formula Drift driver Joon Maeng was on-sight to further the sport of drifting by giving ride-alongs and answering any questions about the new and entertaining motorsport. Jason Jiovani of Largo, FL returned to LS Fest to take first place in the Drift Challenge in his Nexen tire/ASD sponsored LS1-powered S13 Nissan 240SX.
ls fest, drag racing
Since the inception of LS Fest, hundreds of drag racers have participated in the various Scoggins Dickey sponsored drag racing classes. Mark Koehler took home the LSX Drag Radial champion title and performed with a low E.T. of 7.621 at 190.35 mph. Anthony Peck took home the Lingenfelter True Street class champion prize in his LS-powered Fox Body Mustang with an E.T. of 8.633. Greg Delancy took the S.A.M. LSx All Motor class trophy with an E.T. of 8.372 at 160.16 mph top speed. The remainder of drag class standings are available on our event website results page.
LS fest, engine building, engine swap challenge
The Car Craft Engine Swap Challenge pitted 2010 champion Justin Dermody and team Just Automotive against the 2011 winners from the School of Automotive Machinists. 2012 rules dictated only two members per team and teams were required to bolt on most of the accessories to the engine using Holley supplied components. Just Automotive stopped the clock at 35 minutes and 21 seconds, which was good enough for first place and bragging rights, not to mention a brand new LS1 engine complete with Holley bolt-ons and a Holley EFI system.
This year Bob Bertelson brought out a new creation, a 1971 Chevy Camaro and took home Best in Show in the Carbon Kustoms Show-N-Shine.
The ERL Dyno Challenge breaks down into two classes: power-adder and non-power adder. James Voyles took the power adder win by laying down 1,282 horses from his turbocharged ’70 Nova. Greg Davidson took home first in non-power adder after laying down a respectable 544 horsepower in his 5th gen Camaro.
The Baer Brakes Speed Stop Challenge requires drivers to be in tune with the car, requiring just the right amount of acceleration and near perfect braking application in order to achieve the shortest time. An ABS and non-ABS class are judged. Tim Emberton and his 5th gen Camaro took home the ABS SSC award with a time of 8.23 seconds while Jeffrey Cleary managed tire slippage manually for a time of 7.40 seconds.
2013 should be the largest LS Fest yet with more vendors, spectators, and media exposure documenting the most impactful engine since the original small block Chevy.
Check out www.holleylsfest.com for HD video coverage of LS Fest and for more updates regarding Holley LS Fest 2013. Also visit the LS Fest Facebook page for LS related posts and videos at www.facebook.com/lsfest.
Holley logo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *