Road Trip: Red Bull Museum (Hangar 7)


Scuderia Toro Rosso (Italian for Team Red Bull), or STR, debuted in the 2006 F1 season.  The 2008 model was driven by Sebastian Vettel and Sebastien Bourdais.  Vettel pulled off a first place finish at the Italian Grand Prix, the first by any Italian team besides Ferrari since 1957.  

Scuderia Toro Rosso 2008
Sebastian Vettel drove the Scuderia Toro Rosso- powered by a Ferrari V8 056 engine and seven speed gearbox- for the team's first ever F1 victory at the 2008 Italian Grand Prix in Monza. The STR3 is identical to the RB4 except for the engine.    

The Sauber Petronas C17 was used to compete in the 1998 F1 season.  The engine was a Petronas SPE01D (Ferrari), a 75 degree V10, with a Sauber 6 speed logitudinal semi-automatic transmission.  

Sauber Petronas C17
The Sauber Petronas C17 marks the last car to use a round steering wheel in an F1 race.  They've all swapped to rectangular steering wheels since.

The #16 Sauber Petronas C19 pictured below was driven by Pedro Diniz.  Diniz goose-egged the season and was let go.

Sauber Petronas C19

Impressive forms of transportation in every direction!

The Sauber team competed in the 2001 F1 season with the Sauber C20.  It was powered by a Petronas 01A 3.0L V10, provided by Scuderia Ferrari. The Sauber C20 introduced the first twin keel suspension setup, a design in which the suspension arms on each side are mounted to one of the two shorter pylons on each side of the chassis. This allows for fewer disturbances to airflow under the nose cone.  This design tends to be more complex and heavier and had issues with structural rigidity but was adopted by many teams.  

Sauber Petronas C20

Peter Sauber signed up Nick Heidfeld and Kimi Raikonnen behind the wheel of the C20's, achieving 4th place in the Constructor's Championship.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *