Formula Drift 2013: Round 5 at Evergreen Speedway Full Coverage


Darren McNamara Mike EssaDarren takes himself out by not finishing his drift past the finish line due to a broken differential. SPD Metal Works was taken out of Evergreen Drift after this loss.

The Great 8 consisted of Darren “D-Mac” McNamara in the Falken Tires Nissan Silvia battling Mike Essa in the GSR Autoworks BMW M3. Yokohama had changed to the new AD08R compound and it really showed in Mike's favor as he was not only able to drift in deeper, but also gain even more insane angle. Essa would move on against the Irish born driver after his differential broke and the team was unable to fix it in 5 minutes.

Vaughn Gittin Jr Odi BakchisThen Vaughn takes himself out after tapping the wall just before the finish line and stalling out, causing Odi to hit him.

Vaughn Gittin Jr in the Nitto Tires/Monster Energy Ford Mustang would face Odi Bakchis in the Air Force/Nexen Tires Nissan 240SX. After going One More Time against Vaughn, Odi came out the winner after Vaughn would stall in the final corner before the finish line. Odi also had to use up a Competition Time Out to change his tire, which had de-beaded in a similar fashion to what had happened to Vaughn just one round ago at Wall Speedway. This would cost Odi dearly later.

Justin Pawlak JTPWith this JTP's crash, Ford's points would top out at the Great 8. Nissan, Scion, and BMW would continue adding points and chasing down FoMoCo and Lexus.

Fredric Aasbo in the Hankook Tires/Motegi Racing Scion tC and Justin Pawlak in the Falken Tires Ford Mustang would be the pair up next. Going into the bank, Pawlak would hit the wall hard and his weekend was done. Aasbo would also move past JTP in points, but we were still to see just how much further.

Robbie Nishida Chris ForsbergWell, Lexus was continuing to add, but then Robbie got eliminated. This would be the perfect opportunity for the other makes to catch up to both Lexus and Ford!

Robbie Nishida in the Achilles Radial Lexus SC400 and Chris Forsberg in the NOS Energy/Hankook Tires Nissan 370Z would be the final pair in the Great 8. While Robbie looked great and the power of the Garrett Turbo powered 2JZ-GTE could pull away from the best of them, Chris Forsberg was on a mission to gain points against Robbie’s Achilles Radial team mate Daigo Saito. That drive for the championship on top of Forsberg’s consistency paid off and he would advance.

Mike Essa Odi Bakchis“Pow!” There goes another left rear tire on Odi's car.

The Final Four’s first drivers would be Mike Essa and Odi Bakchis, Mike had pulled off a good run but Odi held the advantage. However, the Nexen would de-bead again and Odi, without a Competition Time Out to use anymore, was eliminated. Mike Essa would battle for another chance at First Place after a stellar run all weekend.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *