LS Fest West 2019 – Drift Challenge Recap
LS Fest West’s Lucas Oil Drift Challenge has been a highlight for many drift competitors across the nation (and Canada) for the last few years. Making its debut in 2017, the event has grown quite a bit with over 30 competitors signed up for the Drift Challenge. MotoIQ has had the privilege of being the official media sponsor for the Lucas Oil Drift Challenge, which has also been a unique experience since I also have competed in it since the inaugural event. Over the years we have been developing my drift 350z at the MotoIQ Garage, typically in preparation for LS Fest West since we can expect to see top-of-the-line builds and competition here.

Speaking of competition, qualifying into the Top 16 posted to be quite the challenge this year with a large drivers list.


The first Top 16 battle was Jason Delehay against first place qualifier Nick Gross. Both of the drivers had well-built cars, making for a tough battle. After getting on on Delehay’s door, Gross took the win.
Denver, CO natives and close friends, Ian McDougall and Levi Wait battle it out early-on in the bracket. Although it wasn’t an ideal scenario, it was fun watching these two go at it since they’ve driven together quite a bit. Although it was a tough call, McDougall ended up taking the win in his s14.
It was nice seeing Andrew Attalla out in Top 16 with a bright new livery up against former FormulaDRIFT competitor, Nate Hamilton. This was Hamilton’s official “comeback” so he was hungry for it and he ended up winning this battle.
This was a fun battle to watch! Here is FormulaDRIFT PRO2 driver Branden Sorensen in his pro car battling it out against former FD driver Tony Cisneros. Cisneros’ driving was on fire this day and he earns the win in this battle.
FormulaDRIFT competitor Brody Goble brought out his comp car as well and battled against George Kilada. After an unfortunate mechanical failure, Goble moved on in competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *