World Time Attack Challenge 2011: Day 2- Friday Competition

 World Time Attack Challenge 2011: Day 2- Friday Competition

by Martin Gonzales


Day one of competition is in the books!  Weather was perfect, fans were out in force and the competition was fierce.  The field of 100+ put on a great show as they pushed every limit of their cars.  Records fell and only fractions of a second separate the top 3 cars in the Pro Class.

I would like to say how impressed I am with the Australian motorsport fans.  They got here early and stayed late.  As soon as we arrived at the track this morning it was blatently apparent we were in for a treat.  The paddock area was filled with vendors and the parking lots were filling up quick.  Hats off to the World Time Attack Challenge crew for the amazing job they have done.  If it's not already, the WTAC should definitely be on every gearhead's must-do list.



Fans were treated to all kinds of “goodies”.


The World Time Attack Challenge is much like other time attack events where there are different classes and certain rule sets that must be followed in order to compete.  Let's go over the classes and rules involved. First off, all WTAC events are sanctioned by the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport (CAMS) and all vehicles must comply with Schedules A & B of the National Competition Rules set by CAMS, which is also referred to as the “International Standard”. 


The biggest difference between the most common US time attack rules and the rules used by the WTAC is tire options.  While US time attack rules allow the use of full racing slicks, here the cars are limited to street rated tires.  The following rules are shared by all time attack classes; Pro, Open and Clubsprint:



  • All Vehicles must be available for purchase from a major manufacturer currently/previously as a factory OEM vehicle.
  • No Open Wheel vehicles, Clubman or Kit cars allowed, as determined by the Promoter.
  • All vehicles must only have four wheels with the steering acting on the front wheels only.
  • Vehicles are limited to one engine.
  • No centre steer vehicles allowed.


TiresAll vehicles must use tires from the following list:

  • Yokohama/Advan – A048R, AO50R
  • Bridgestone – RE540S, RE55, RE-11S
  • Dunlop – Formula R (D83J, D93J, D01J, DZ02G, DZ03G)
  • Federal – 595RSR, FZ201
  • Kumho – Ecsta V700, V70A
  • Michelin – Pilot Sport Cup, TB15
  • Pirelli – P Zero C, P Zero Corsa
  • Silverstone – FTZ Sport Tyre RR, S575, S585
  • Toyo – Proxes RA-1, Proxes R888, Trampio R881
  • Hankook – Ventus Z221
  • Nitto – NT01

*All vehicles in the Clubsprint Class must run on tires with a wear rating higher than 120*


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *